Posted by: Dominic Umile | 01/20/2009

Big Things in 2009

McCarren Park, Brooklyn, New York

Happy Frigid New Year, and I’m glad to be writing this on the eve of what will be a day of unparalleled historical significance for the United States. More on what January 20th, 2009 means to me later.

This is an introductory post — I thought that The Whisper Council might be a good spot to update any remotely interested parties as to what I’ve been working on. I’ll also be adding short posts concerning things I’ve been reading or thinking about, so there will be more than music-related items here, but I’m envisioning this to be mostly a work-related space where I’ll discuss my freelance writing.

At PopMatters, I’ve recently written about an album called Coastlines from Prins Thomas’ Norway-based Internasjonal label. Not too long before that, I was listening to the sophomore record from German techno producer Miwon, and I wrote a blurb about it for the December issue of XLR8R Magazine. My review of the Lemonade debut also appeared in that issue. For Remix Magazine in December, I wrote a review of the South Central collection/album Momentum LP for their online component. I’ll also have some items to post in the coming days regarding records I wrote about for Remix’s print issue, and 2008 albums that I missed when they were released. Before then, though, I’ll be checking in to see what Katrina Vanden Heuvel has to say about the changing of the guard in Washington, D.C.

Onward…to hopefully big things this year.

Responses

  1. It is about time you are offering your work for the public’s pleasure. Thank you friend.

  2. Thanks so much for your support, good friend.


Leave a Reply

Categories

