Posted by: Dominic Umile | 09/02/2009

September Commutes: Rolling Stones, Falty DL, more

Outer BanksI’ve suddenly found myself behind on a stockpile of magazines (about to settle into this week’s Nation cover story), promos, actual writing, and episodes of True Blood, which I wasn’t sure I liked until recently. In between all of that, I’ve added a “Reading” widget that now appears over on the right here — I try to Digg most of the stuff I’m reading now, and if something that I’ve written goes live somewheres, I’ll also Digg that so it appears in the feed. And maybe you’ll Digg it too, hmm? That would be wonderful. Have a look at what I’ve been checking out during my commutes. Downloads and details below.

12X5Just after the 40th anniversary of the death of Rolling Stones’ founding member and multi-instrumentalist Brian Jones, police in Sussex, UK will soon sift through 600 documents resulting from a journalist’s four-year investigation of how Jones might have died that July night in 1969. It was officially called a drowning, but “new” evidence suggests what certain parties have theorized for years. Terry Rawlings, who authored a book about a murder cover-up at Brian’s Hartfield, East Sussex home, told Mojo Magazine in 1999 that the story “is all very sinister and eerie,” and that there were “dark corners” that he “could never put into his book.” I’ll likely update this space if I read anything of note with respect to an investigation. In the meantime, I’ll suggest a return to the Stones’ early days — their 12 X 5 is a rattling, primal collection that only saw release in the U.S. in 1964. It includes “It’s All Over Now,” a raggedy cover of a 1963 tune co-penned by Bobby Womack for his band The Valentinos (listen to the original here). Womack told author Steve Appleford that he was pretty steamed at the time, as it felt like The Rolling Stones had nicked the first big shot that he’d worked so hard to get. After some royalty checks, however, as Appleford notes in his 2000 book The Rolling Stones: Rip This Joint, Womack found himself chasing after the Brits to get them to record another one of his fine tunes.

FALTYNew York producer Falty DL put together a sexy, simmering mix for his entry in the ongoing, very valuable Resident Advisor podcast series. I’m liking this a lot — he offers choices from Hotflush, Rephlex, previews his forthcoming EP on Planet Mu (a fascinating array of shadowy, ambient garage beats and associated electronic forms that I hope to say a lot about soon), and more. I missed him DJ’ing a couple of weeks ago in Williamsburg, but I don’t like to stay up late on weeknights due to a steady subscription to lameness and rapidly aging body. Act fast on grabbing Falty DL’s podcast. Read Fact Magazine’s piece on him here.

ASTRUDCall it trying to retain as much of my vacation mindset as I can possibly muster. I recently did absolutely nothing in North Carolina’s Outer Banks for a bit in order to get away from the erratic pace (and apparently a hideous heat wave) of New York City, and I’ve pondered those beachy, totally unproductive days for a few minutes every morning since I’ve been back. That said, I’m really glad to be home, but I recommend a trip to the Outer Banks with loved ones. I also suggest that at least a few of your minutes are spent with “Berimbau” this week. Named after an African stringed instrument, “Berimbau” is a heavenly jazz/bossa nova number that Astrud Gilberto recorded for Verve in 1965 (it was written a year earlier by Brazilian musician Baden Powell). Gilberto’s rendition appears on a bargain collection CD issued by Verve that includes her debut full-length as well as 14 other tracks. I own this and I listen to it frequently. Bonus: Crate-digger extraordinaire Cut Chemist lifted Gilberto’s vocals from “Berimbau” back in 2006 for “The Garden” on The Audience’s Listening (I wrote about that one here). And don’t miss the new free EP from ISO50, which includes producer Shigeto’s stuttering, warm edit of “Berimbau.”

Leave a Reply

Categories

