Posted by: Dominic Umile | 11/01/2010

Published Elsewhere: On Ray Bradbury

The Illustrated ManToday, PopMatters published a non-music item from me. It’s my first piece for the Web magazine that doesn’t involve music criticism, so please have a look. Use PM’s share tools to share with your friends on Facebook, and be sure to re-Tweet, post to Delicious, Digg, and whatever else. I encourage you to check out the other stuff at the site and do the same with whatever else you find of interest, as there is a LOT to explore over there.

I ignored this space for a good while, but I’ve been able to read a lot and get some writing done, which is positive, I hope. Ray Bradbury Wrote Me Back is a memoirish-type piece about my experiences with the author’s work, and the effect that his stories have had on me over the years. Bradbury turned 90 on August 22nd, and is still publishing. As you’ll read at PopMatters, I’ve always been an enthusiast of Ray Bradbury’s short stories — they’re often rich with affecting characters, ideas, and what many have called Bradbury’s “lyrical” imagery.

BradburyThe list of rewarding stories is a long one, but I’d likely side with Bradbury biographer Sam Weller as far as a primer goes. Weller knows his subject’s innermost secrets, and Stop Smiling, the NY-based imprint that put out Dave Tompkins’ thoroughly researched vocoder book, published Weller’s second book on Bradbury this summer.

Sam Weller points to “The Veldt” over at his blog, and I’ll let him explain why. Recently, Weller and the fine folks at McNally-Jackson bookstore in SoHo hosted a live Skype session with Ray Bradbury that occurred approximately seven minutes’ walking distance from my day job. I had the distinct pleasure of missing the whole thing, because I’m an absent-minded fool. I nearly choked on my thermos of coffee while reading about it on the following morning, learning that a favorite writer was interviewed in real-time, hours previous, footsteps from where I work.

So have a look at my piece at PopMatters, and drop me a line with any feedback you might have. I’ll also ask you to go ahead and get started on Bradbury’s books. You’ve got a lot of catching up to do.

Categories

